• 1

James Parker

James Parker 2017-04-02T02:28:12+0000

On Mon, Feb 29, 2016 at 1:44 PM, Christina Reynolds < creynolds@hillaryclinton.com> wrote: > News to me—as is that last part. To my knowledge, we’ve not gotten to that > in planning? > > > > I think the first point is ok, but don’t love pointing to states where we > think he’ll do well, unless that’s just a total done deal. > > > > *From:* Josh Schwerin [mailto:jschwerin@hillaryclinton.com] > *Sent:* Monday, February 29, 2016 1:41 PM > *To:* Jennifer Palmieri <jpalmieri@hillaryclinton.com>; Christina > Reynolds <creynolds@hillaryclinton.com>; Brian Fallon < > bfallon@hillaryclinton.com>; Nick Merrill <nmerrill@hillaryclinton.com>; > Jesse Ferguson <jferguson@hillaryclinton.com> > *Cc:* Sara Latham <slatham@hillaryclinton.com> > > *Subject:* Fwd: Hi Angel and Tina -- running stuff by you re > Clinton/Trump story in tomorrow's NYT > > > > Are we working on this story on our end? > > > > ---------- Forwarded message ---------- > From: *Angel Urena* <Angel@presidentclinton.com> > Date: Mon, Feb 29, 2016 at 1:39 PM > Subject: Fwd: Hi Angel and Tina -- running stuff by you re Clinton/Trump > story in tomorrow's NYT > To: Synergy <synergy@hillaryclinton.com> > > > > > Begin forwarded message: > > *From:* "Healy, Patrick" <pdh@nytimes.com> > *Date:* February 29, 2016 at 12:36:31 PM CST > *To:* Angel Urena - PC <angel@presidentclinton.com>, Tina Flournoy < > Tina@presidentclinton.com> > *Subject:* *Hi Angel and Tina -- running stuff by you re Clinton/Trump > story in tomorrow's NYT* > > Hi Angel, hi Tina, > > Hope you're both well. Amy Chozick and I are doing a story about how the > Clinton campaign and its supporters view Trump as a general election > opponent and plan to run against him. The story will run in tomorrow's > paper. > > One part of the story deals with how Secretary Clinton, President Clinton, > President Obama, and other Dems regard Trump as a potential general > election opponent. > > I wanted to run some points by you about President Clinton, based on our > reporting with allies and campaign advisers and other Dems who have spoken > to him. > > We're told that President Clinton (like Mrs. Clinton and some other Dems) > thinks that Trump would be a formidable opponent in the general election, > and that Dems are in a form of denial if they dismiss Trump as a joke who > would be easily defeated in November. President Clinton, like others, > thinks that Trump has his finger on the pulse of the electorate's mood and > that only a well-financed, concerted campaign portrayed him as dangerous > and bigoted will win what both Clintons believe will be a close November > election. > > We're told that President Clinton (like Mrs. Clinton and many other Dems) > thinks the single greatest weapon against Trump is Trump's own instinct to > make outrageous, divisive, even hateful comments that can come across as > unpresidential. He, Mrs. Clinton, and the campaign all agree that they will > need to seize on opportunities to paint Trump as extremist and recklessly > impulsive. > > > > We're told that President Clinton, like Secretary Clinton and some others, > think Trump could pose a real threat in battleground states that President > Obama carried in 2008 and 2012 -- like Virginia and Ohio -- and he will be > competitive in Florida, Pennsylvania, Michigan, and Wisconsin. > > We're also told that the campaign intends to unleash President Clinton on > social media and the campaign trail when Trump lashes out/tries to sway the > news cycle. > > Happy to talk this over by email or phone before 6pm today. Thanks, Patrick > > > > -- > > Patrick Healy > > National political correspondent, New York Times > > p. 212 556 5885 > > c. 917 575 4805 > > e. pdh@nytimes.com > > @patrickhealynyt > > > > > > -- > > Josh Schwerin > > Spokesman, Deputy Director of Rapid Response > > Hillary for America > > @JoshSchwerin >

0